Intérprete de Español Disponible (801) 809-8533

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most common questions we receive

Proudly Serving Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Colorado, Wyoming & Idaho

Do private investigators have to be licensed in Utah?

Yes, the three licenses issued in Utah are Agency, Registrant and Apprentice. The agency must be insured with a minimum policy of $500,000.00 liability. When selecting a private investigator, make sure you are dealing with an “Agency” license holder. “Registrants” and “Apprentices” cannot advertise business or work independent of an Agency License.

Can I do my own investigation?

The short answer is, not really. Most courts would question an involved party’s investigation. Doing your own work leaves room for the allegation that you fabricated information to better your case. Also, doing your own work could actually be used against you. We have seen parties obtain stalking injunctions and protective orders claiming they are being follow by the other involved party. At EyesOn, we are an independent set of eyes, not personally involved in your case. We will provide an outsiders view of the facts and findings.

Is GPS tracking legal?

Yes. The United Stated Supreme Court ruled on Law Enforcement use of GPS requiring a search warrant. That ruling has nothing to do with a private investigator. 

However, in 2019, Utah passed HB 223 which became law in May 2019. 76-9-408 allows licensed private investigators to place a tracking device in certain instances.

76-9-408.  Unlawful installation of a tracking device states in part:

(3) A person is not guilty of unlawful installation of a tracking device if the person:

(a)(i) is a licensed private investigator installing the tracking device for a legitimate business purpose; and

(ii) installs the tracking device on a motor vehicle that is not:

(A) owned or leased by an individual under the protection of a protective order; or

(B) operated by an individual under the protection of a protective order who resides with, or is an immediate family member of, the owner or lessee of the motor vehicle.

How much does a private investigator cost?

Fees vary widely. Most investigators in Utah charge between \$95-\$275 per hour. Other fees for services vary. Contact EyesOn PI for a full listing of fees and services.

How do I pick the right private investigator?

Picking the right investigator is important. It can also be difficult. Here are a few suggestions:

  1. Look for experience in the field of your investigation.
  2. Ask for references.
  3. See if the investigator belongs to any professional associations. Associations often “VET” the investigator’s credentials.
  4. Pick someone you are comfortable with and someone who can answer your questions.
  5. Pick someone who knows the local laws.
  6. Do not pick someone just because they are cheaper. You have heard, “Cheapest isn’t always best”.
  7. Check for proper licensing.

Still have questions?
We are here to help. Use our Contact form to submit your questions.

Need immediate assistance? Just give us a call at (801) 809-8533.

Real World Experience

Our education, background and experience sets us apart. There are few, if any, PI firms that can claim this level of training and experience, let alone back it up with certificates, diplomas, and other verifications.

EyesOn has been directly involved in thousands of police investigations, surveillance activities, and complex fraud investigations. These cases involved multiple subjects and thousands of pieces of evidence and documents. Our wide range of expertise allows us to look at each case individually, from several perspectives, to find a strategy that saves client valuable time and resources.

Looking for more information, or want to schedule your FREE consultation?